THE IMAGING & GEOSPATIAL INFORMATION SOCIETY EASTERN GREAT LAKES REGION



President

Robert Brinkman
Vice President

Secretary-TreasurerGeorge Leshkevich

Region Directors

John Antolovich Herman Dillner Jason Heywood

National Director

Charles E. Olson, Jr.

Web Editor Director

Roger Gauthier

National website

www.asprs.org

Newsletter Editor

Dean C. Merchant merchant.2@osu.edu





EGLR is October Region of the Month

Adding seventeen new members to its roster, EGLR was honored to be named the October Region of the Month. Special recognition goes to Dr. Thomas Mueller of California University of Pennsylvania who recruited 15 of the new members.

December 2006

Vol. 06 No. 4

From the President . . .

Dear Friends and Colleagues,

It's hard to believe that another year will soon be coming to an end and with it my term as President of one of the most active and growing regions in the ASPRS. As I look back, there is much to reflect on, but more importantly much to look forward to.

Over this past year we have brought together remote sensing specialists, GIS professionals, and photogrammetrists from several different geospatial disciplines; and we have established a strong network of mutually beneficial partnerships between educators, business persons and government civil servants.

Our activities and accomplishments included, but were not limited to; a well attended regional meeting in February where we held a workshop, technical presentations and approved an update to our bylaws; the development and implementation of a scholarship program under the direction of our membership committee; a successful summer meeting that included a tour of one of our member's facilities and an excellent presentation on the "Future of Photogrammetry" by several of our members; the approval of a Regional contribution to be made to the ASPRS Award Endowment Fund; the receipt of the "Region of the Month" award for October, 2006; and the continued growth in our two Student Chapters.

The ASPRS has long held a deep commitment to innovation and the innate ability to tap into the needs and aspirations of our membership. I would like to thank all the members who served with me for their significant support and measurable contribution to the Eastern Great Lakes Region. In particular, I want to thank our National Director, Chuck Olsen, for his leadership and guidance, and for helping us set a course to achieve our mission.

Warm Wishes for a Very Happy New Year,

Bob Brinkman President, ASPRS EGLR



Winter regional meeting is scheduled for Friday, January 26

New Geospatial Acquisition Systems is the theme of the Winter Regional Meeting to be held on January 26 at the Days Inn in Milan Ohio. The morning session will concern Thermal Imagery and be presented by Chuck Olsen. The afternoon session will include Thermal Imaging Sensors by Thomas R. Ory plus 3 TBA presentations

Cost of the meeting is \$10 for members who register by January 20 (\$15 late registration fee), \$25 for non-members, and free for students.



Help to the solution of the solution of the solution ballots have been sent and votes need to be received by print, fax, or e-mail by **January 20, 2007.**

EGLR has new student chapter

California University of Pennsylvania has been accepted as a student chapter of the Eastern Great Lakes Region of ASPRS.

Membership Committee is established

Members of this new committee are:

- 1) Bill Harbert University of Pittsburgh
- 2) James Lein Ohio University
- 3) Pete Clapham Cleveland State University
- 4) Carolyn Merry The Ohio State University
- 5) Robert Welch Lansing Community College
- 6) Larry Spencer Private Consultant, Columbus OH
- 7) Tom Mueller California University of PA
- 8) Jamie Mitchem California University of PA

Winner of the first EGLR Scholarship Award is announced

Congratulations to Jessica Long of California University of Pennsylvania who has been selected as recipient of the first EGLR Student Scholarhip Award. She will receive her check for \$500 at the Regional Winter Meeting in Milan, OH on January 26.

EGLR supports ASPRS Awards Fund

Advantage of \$500 has been made by EGLR to the ASPRS Award Endowment Fund in the name of Talbott Abrams, founder of Abrams Aerial Surveys of Lansing MI.

Other meetings scheduled for 2007

October 28 - November 1: Fall CRSS/ASPRS Conference to be held in Ottawa, Canada. The theme is *Our Common Borders: Safety, Security, and the Environment through Remote Sensing.*

October 29: Great Lakes Regional Data Exchange (RDX) '07 Conference to be held in conjunction with the CRSS/ASPRS Fall Conference. The theme is *Binational Geospatial Data Sharing*.

Sherry McGartland to be newsletter editor

Beginning in January, Dean Merchant is retiring as editor of this newsletter and Sherry McGartland will be the new editor. Sherry is employed as a Geospatial technician with BAE Systems. She recently completed her GIS certificate and is currently pursuing her first GIS degree. After over 20 years as a database analyst and applications designer within the engineering and construction industries in San Diego, Sherry relocated to Pittsburgh where she embarked on a new career path in photogrammetry and GIS.

Her journalism experience includes editor of the newsletter for a local chapter of National Association of Women In Construction, publications chair for Aquarium and Zoological Facilities Association, and editor of numerous company newsletters. Any articles or suggestions for the April 2007 newsletter should be emailed to her at: sherry.a.mcgartland@baesystems.com.

Web site has wealth of information

The web site of ASPRS has information about our national organization, but also includes news from the regions. By going to asprs.org, clicking on Regions, followed by Eastern Great Lakes, and Region Home Page, you can find detailed information you may have missed, such as:

- 1. 2007 election ballot to unload
- 2. Program details, advance registration, and map to the January 26 meeting
- 3. Website of the fall CRSS/ASPRS Conference

Dean C. Merchant is selected as ASPRS Honorary Member

Dean Merchant has been selected as an Honorary Member of the American Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing (ASPRS). This is the highest award an ASPRS member can receive, and there are only 25 Honorary Members at any given time. Candidates are chosen by the Nominating Committee (made up of the past five recipients of the award and chaired by the most recent recipients (Robert H. Brock, Jr. and Roy R. Mullen) and approved by the Board of Directors.

Initiated in 1937, the award is given in recognition of individuals who have rendered distinguished service to ASPRS and/or who have attained distinction in advancing the science and use of the geospatial information sciences. It is awarded for professional excellence and at least 20 years of service to ASPRS. This is a lifetime award.